I AM A NATURAL WONDER

I want you to know that I’m impenetrable right now
That I’ve considered the open road
And made an informed decision
To just sit around in the afternoon dark

Groups of fresh-smelling people are talking on the sidewalk
I don’t want to join them at all
I really really really don’t

I gave you the secret password to my Gmail account
Which is the same as my Facebook account
And my Twitter and my Myspace and my New York City Department of Ed

I’ve blocked seven hundred baskets
Scored seven thousand points
I’ve written my secret password seven million times
It’s my alternate name

My apartment has many lamps and only one bulb
I keep the bulb safe in my thick woolen pocket
I keep my pseudonym sparkling in your sparkly brain

*

Matt L. Rohrer is the publisher of Small Desk Press and a contributor to We Who Are About To Die.

